RSS

How this blog began ….

23 Nov

I was introduced to the writings of Brian Moore by a face2face book group member.   The novels sat in the TBR mountain for over 12 months before I read a word.  I picked Brian Moore for a Reading the Author challenge and after just two novels, I knew my destiny was to become a Brian Moore completist. There are 20 novels and I have to read them all! I am anticipating so much pleasure from this (even though the endings aren’t happy) that I’d like to share the ride.

So here’s the deal – I intend reading one Brian Moore novel per month until I’ve read them all.  I would like you to join me.  The Moore, the merrier!

You don’t have to read all the novels (particularly as some are no longer in print and won’t be that easy to get hold off) but you may fancy one or two or three or four ….. and, if you’re like me, you may want to opt in to all 20!  (They really are that good!)

I’m going to kick this off for real in December 2007.  No time limit but I’ll aim to read one Brian Moore per month – not necessarily in chronological sequence, but, for the purposes of this blog, I will start with his debut novel, The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne. 

Not many have heard of Brian Moore, despite his being Booker shortlisted 3 times! Graham Greene called Moore “his favourite living writer” …. and he’s fast becoming a favourite of mine.  Why?  Take a peek at my previous reviews.

If you want to join me, please leave a comment. 

If you have a wordpress account, please send me details of the email associated with that account.  I will then be able to give you contributor rights to this blog.

Email details:  lizzysiddal@yahoo.com.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2007 in How this blog began

 

12 responses to “How this blog began ….

  1. John Self

    November 23, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Count me in! Like you, I’m already part way into just such a Moore-athon on my blog. I’m currently discovering that one of the least available of Moore’s novels, The Emperor of Ice-Cream, is one of his best…

     
  2. Stewart

    November 23, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    A worthy cause. And I’ve not even read him yet.

     
  3. Beth

    November 24, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    I’m wich ya too, Lizzy, and bought I am Mary Dunne and Lies of Silence yesterday. Are we going with Lupercal in January?

     
  4. lizzysiddal

    November 24, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    I don’t have a copy of Lupercal. Isn’t it out-of-print? Seeing as you, Colette, John Self and I all have copies of “Lies of Silence”, let’s go with that. We don’t have to do this chronologically, do we?

     
  5. colettejones

    November 24, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    Yes, please, count me in.

     
  6. Sheila Redden

    November 24, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Sounds good, you’re the boss! I hadn’t thought about whether to approach them chronologically. It was good to see the titles listed by John Self and somewhat categorized as thriller, etc. This is going to be fun! Only, psst, ya gotta watch that Colette to make sure she stays out of the sauce until noon.

     
  7. Idetrorce

    December 15, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

     
  8. lizzysiddal

    December 16, 2007 at 8:18 am

    What is it you disagree with?

     
  9. Howard Curtis

    January 3, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Don’t miss “No Other Life”, one of the best novels I’ve ever read. “Cold Heaven” is also remarkable.

     
  10. colettejones

    January 4, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Hi Howard – we don’t intend to miss any if I understand Lizzy correctly…

    Bring it on!

     
  11. lizzysiddal

    January 4, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    You understand me perfectly, Collette.

     
  12. (Judy) Intergalactic Bookworm

    December 23, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Sign me up! I am always looking for new authors. Judy/Intergalactic Bookworm

     

Leave a Reply

 
